2017 Youth Council elected at the Rio Academy

13/04/2017 – The afternoon of 7th of April was an important moment in the Fight for Peace calendar, as the newly elected members of the 2017 Rio Academy Youth Council were inaugurated. The Youth Council is one of the key components of Fight for Peace and its methodology, aiding in the development of youth leaders who represent the organisation externally and liaise with staff on strategy and programme development. For the 18 young people elected as new councillors by their fellow Fight for Peace members, joining the council marks a special moment.

The Youth Council is a group made up entirely of young people, with two representatives, one male and one female, from each of the sporting disciplines practiced at Fight for Peace, as well as one representative from the Pathways education programme. The council is a way for representatives to take part in the discussion and formulation of new policies and initiatives specific to Fight for Peace. Their other areas of responsibility include organising a calendar of events, hosting visitors and helping select new Fight for Peace employees.

Youth councillors are chosen by their peers at the organisation, a process that increases their legitimacy to make decisions which will affect all Fight for Peace members. The council fosters leadership amongst young people and looks to foster skills that can be used at Fight for Peace and in life.

“The idea behind the Youth Council is placing the young people right at the heart of the organisation, making sure they have a voice. We work with and for the young people”, explained Lola Werneck, Fight for Peace Youth Leadership Coordinator,

Tamires Santana, who has just been re-elected onto the council, added her thoughts on the central importance of the group.“The main objective of the Youth Council is to represent the image and voice of Fight for Peace Young People, and within this, the council has a range of functions aimed at helping both young people and the project itself improve!”, said Tamires.

Congratulations to all of the new 2017 Youth Councillors!

Below is a list of the new Youth Council members, by sporting discipline:

Boxing: Leomar Silva Gomes Junior and Rebeca de Lima Santos
Judo: Lorena Froz, Wilson Silva and Ewerton Leandro Manuel Pena
Jiu Jitsu: Giuliano Oliveira and Davi Alves
Wrestling: Sara Pereira and Jonas Cheyman
Taekwondo: Angélica Rocha and Hugo Santos
Muay Thai: Anatan dos Santos Ferreira and Thais Andrade
Capoeira: Tamara Corrêa Caetano and Talita Nogueira
Olympic Wrestling: Tamires Santana and Thayane Valle
Pathways: Marcos Oliveira